Seminar on solar photovoltaic energy [fr]

Wednesday 03 June 2015, 19:00

Seminar organized by the French Institute of Cyprus in partnership with the University of Cyprus and the Cyprus Institute. Trois intervenants se succèderont :

Ecole Polytechnique : Joaquim Nassar, Joaquim Nassar, engineer, graduated from Ecole Polytechnique and ENSTA ParisTech. He also holds a PhD in physics of magnetic materials in thin films (done under the supervision of Pr Albert Fert). Since 2010, he has carried out research activities within the joint LPICM (Laboratory of Physics of Interfaces and Thin Films)/TOTAL team, which dedicate its work to semiconductors for photovoltaic solar energy. In addition, he was appointed as Director of academic affairs at the prestigious Ecole Polytechnique in November 2012.

University of Cyprus : Professor George E. Georghiou, president of the Department of Photovoltaic Technology. Dr George E. Georghiou is currently the leader of PV Technology, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Cyprus. Prior to this, he was a University Lecturer and the undergraduate course leader in Electrical Engineering at the University of Southampton, and a Research Advisor for the Electricity Utilization, University of Cambridge. He represents Cyprus on the FP7 Energy Committee, the SET plan committee, the European Mirror Group on Photovoltaics and sits on the board of the recently-established Cyprus Energy Agency, which receives its funding from the EU. Dr Georghiou has published over 200 papers in international journals and conference proceedings and his team has obtained research funding from bodies such as the European Union, Royal Society, Cambridge-MIT Institute, University of Cambridge, Research Promotion Foundation, Electricity Authority of Cyprus, Cyprus Energy Regulatory Authority, Cyprus Telecommunication Authority, University of Cyprus etc.

Cyprus Institute : Professor Costas N. Papanicolas is a nuclear physicist with over 35 years of experience as a researcher, an educator and a scientific administrator. He received his B.Sc. in Physics and PhD in Nuclear Physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in the USA. He currently holds professorial appointments with the University of Athens (Greece) and the University of Illinois (adjunct). In 2011, he was elected as a member of the Academia Europaea. He has served as Director of the Institute of Accelerating Systems and Applications (Athens GR), Chairman of the Accreditation and Certification Council of Cyprus and Member of the National Advisory Research Council of Greece. He is Chair of the Cyprus-CERN Committee, member of the National Council on Research and Innovation and Vice Chair of its Cyprus Scientific Council. He is also a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

This event will take place in the framework of the 21st climate conference. The COP21, also known as the 2015 Paris Climate Conference, will be one of the largest international conferences ever held in France

University Campus



publié le 29/05/2015

top of the page